Life Savors

By osuzanna

Derelict Barn near Antietam

Day #1 of the B&W Challenge

Two former work colleagues (retired) and I all met for a day of hiking at Antietam. Antietam is a Civil War Battlefield located in Maryland about an hour north of my home. We came across this badly damaged barn as we began our hike. It actually looks as though it has been hit by a tornado or some very high winds.

I had not been to this battlefield area in about 20 years and was really taken with the beautiful countryside and very charming old towns nearby. I was the only one with a camera so I couldn’t take nearly as many photos as I would have liked because I would have slowed everyone down. I will definitely go back again, by myself, and take my time exploring. It will be a great winter location.

After nearly 7 miles of hiking, we rewarded ourselves with a very late lunch and some microbrew at a delightful restaurant in Boonesboro.

This is my entry for the Derelict Thursday Challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.