Jazzy, Not Bewitched But Bothered And Bewildered

You can tell by the angle of her ears. :(

My darling German Shepherd Dog has not been herself recently. She didn't want to play, just played with her food and kept skulking off and getting into my bed. I was really worried as I lost my beloved Petal GSD at eight years old, the same age as Jazzy.

Unlike poor Petal, who had a miserable life, plagued by broken bones, freak accidents and a horrible genetic condition, Jazz has never been ill in her life. She hasn't been to the vet's since she was a puppy. She hasn't actually been off this premises either, happy to be in a pack with MrQ and me. She has never worn a collar or been on a lead. She knows the bounds of our property and has hardly ever strayed. She has been my constant togging assistant, bringing her ball that I kick between shots, or just sitting patiently waiting for me to shoot.

I was so stressed about her that when I phoned to make the appointment at the vet's I couldn't remember her name. All I could think of was Petal and having to make that kind decision for her. :(

She took to the collar well but Jazz remembered the tinkling of the lead and cowered in her bed. We had to tempt her into the van with a sausage. She trotted into the surgery as if she had been on the lead all her life. She was sedated and her fur clipped away. The lesion on her cheek is only an infected area of eczema. The vet told us that the pain and irritation can lay dogs very low.

What a relief! She hopped back in the van like a good 'un and seemed to enjoy the journey home. Her tail wagged nineteen to the dozen when we got to the gate. We helped her out of the van and confused, she immediately jumped back in. That's when I took the pic.

My heart is bursting with love for her. She has never taken a tablet in her life but is brilliant at swallowing her antibiotics. She seems to be wearing her new collar with pride. I'm so happy. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.