Tolerance

Germany's BBC equivalent has had a "Theme" week on Tolerance throughout it's national & regional TV & radio programmes. It has been covering everything that is "out of the box" and even for those who might consider themselves "tolerant", highlights the dilemma of the "well intentioned".

How do you respond to a wheelchair bound, intelligent and very seriously physically disabled 40 year old, similar to Stephen Hawkins, who goes out for a meal with friends. The group are all given a menu and a welcome glass of Ouzo, he is given a lollipop!

It has started a large discussion in all media, starting with whether "Tolerance" should be "Acceptance" or better still "Respect". Tolerance is a rather negative, minimal word.

I like to think I am more than"tolerant" but I know there is a long way to go before I am truly "open minded". How do you ignore your first impression?

So here my latest attempt at being tolerant - Not a word on last night's events in a certain Kent parliamentary constituency.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now all you lovely tolerant Blipers: I'm sorry I can't yet go so far as to have at least one day without my unending blurb. I'm working on it but please bear with me.

Today needed to resolve yesterday's problems. Texted MrB asking if he could come by with his tractor and heave a silage/haylage bale in to the horse stables. He called from Nuremberg claiming to be helping set up his company's stand for next weeks exhibition. Not sure if he really understands what he does at work as he refused to build me a GPS/NavSat controlled touchscreen for my tractor steering and hydraulic implement control.

One has to take these things as they come and be tolerant but I hope he chokes on one of the famous Nuremberg Bratwürst similar to one Nogbad saw in Kent yesterday.

I knew my normal 1st choice for bale moving, Farmer Franz, was up to his eyeballs in work, having phoned yesterday. So didn't want to phone again today but sure enough, as reliable as ever, he turned up this afternoon with son Marcus.

Franz told me they had been in Kempten and bought two young girls with lots of "Holz vor der Hütte", an expression I will translate literally (large wood pile in front of the hut) but will leave those interested (and tolerant) to Google the real meaning. He hopes to make some money with them, despite the miserable price at the moment. Probably the first task for the UK's new independent government, as the EU quota system ends on the day parliament is dissolved.

Talking of wood piles: they were on their way out to do some work in their forest clearing away the damage caused by storm Gonzalo - trees mainly broken rather than being uprooted, so can't be used for sawmills and they will get a wood chipper next week and fill their own store - they have a wood chip central heating.

As the large cable winch & a small trailer for all the chainsaws and accessories on the rear hydraulic lift, had to use the front loader to spear a bale & bring it to the horse stables. They also offered to come by next week with the chipper and get rid of all my hedge cuttings. Yippeeee.

Thanks the two of you and was great to see the backs of you both.

NO NO, not what you think, I am after all tolerant ... I know they are busy and anyway they wouldn't want to have been in the way when Dr Bulldog, Jürgen, turned up just afterwards to deal with the second problem, the John Deere hydraulic pipe leak.

I had prepared what I could but couldn't find out how to get the two meter long metal pipe out from behind all the other mechanical parts and various covers and cowlings. Two minutes later and most of the tractor in seperate parts and the pipe was out.

No only do I hate MrB but even more Jürgen. When I take something apart which has 6 screws and the put it back together, there will always be at least one left over. When MrB does the same exercise, there are none left over and the screws have been painted. When Jürgen has finished he has had to find a seventh screw from his workbox to replace the one that has been missing for five years, and made sure to give it a good coating of grease. My tolerance level has been reached.

Jürgen will try to get over Monday to build back the replacement or solder-repaired pipe. However the pressure is off now that the horses have food again.

Thanks Jürgen for dropping by after work to save us, a pleasure to see you as always.

Rounded off the day with the high pressure water cleaner to get the horse trailer looking repectable. With the weather set to be dry and mild, ideal for letting it dry out. Also attacked some of the moss and dirt in the forecourt but gave up at 19:00, long after it was dark and I couldn't see anything.

Luckily for me, Angie then cooked me a wonderful steak with braised potatoe wedges with the skins on and a salad. Delicious. Trust she will still be so tolerant tomorrow when she sees what my wellies brought indoors!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.