Banksia Rose

The climbing rose with the small white blooms had masses of flowers this morning, but a southerly gale scattered the petals like snowflakes. I’m glad there are plenty of buds. The fragrance of these roses is heavenly.

This morning the outdoor temperature was slightly below 16ºC at 5.30 am. Just two days ago there was a frost that decorated the greenhouse with a ferny pattern right over the roof. The forecast for today was foul so I went out before breakfast to prepare the garden for plants I bought. After about an hour and a half I went in for breakfast, planning to put the plants in a little later. However, suddenly the sun came out and it was so hot! I had to rig up protection for the tomatoes and cucumbers in the greenhouse. It was late afternoon when I put the plants in. By then the wind was cool and I worked in a swirl of rose petals.

Now I’m wondering what tomorrow will bring- snow or a heatwave?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.