Groovy Beetle

A flower longhorn beetle, Zorion species, native of New Zealand. I was pleased to find and photograph this beetle because I usually only see them dead in spider webs. It is 5mm from head to the end of the wing case. They feed on pollen and nectar, and the grubs live under bark. The flower is Angelica.

Today was overcast and warm, a surprise after yesterday’s frost. Yesterday I prepared the soil and planted 14 of my 25 tomato plants in the greenhouse. I’ve prepared the other side today and have planted 10 more. They were desperate to be in the soil. They look rather sad and spindly. I must have put the seeds in too early. In my experience they take two or three weeks to recover and then take off. The remaining plant will go in a pot.

Meanwhile, the potted cucumbers and zucchinis that I sowed at the same time are in production, especially the Lebanese cucumbers that are threatening to overwhelm me. All the plants were raised in my livingroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.