An Obsessive Photographer

By MadDogGiraffe

Messing around with Trigger Trap

Had to practice for a shoot I am helping with next weekend were we need to capture a ballon popping on camera. Got hold of a Trigger Trap MKII and have to say it is remarkable. What it does is connect to your iPhone and uses the microphone to sense for a sound (the pop in this case) and then it triggers your flash via the headphone socket through the supplied lead. It also does a load of other thinks like motion sensing and time-lapse based on distance moved rather than time, just to name a few.

Boys will be boys and my son Felix in particular has a daft streak in him so we finished the shoot with him dropping a ballon full of warm water on his head. It is not very crisp because these were shot in daylight so I had to have the flash on full power to get any sort of result. I know that with darkness I can drop the flash to 1/128th power which will give me a very short flash duration and freeze the water dead.

Fun over, time to tidy up the mess, boo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.