Where Next?

By HK

It's good to be home

I think I may have used the title for this blip before. Every time I come back to the village I grew up in and visit Mum I'm reminded of how nice it is.

Today Andy and I caught the bus (literally the bus) to Easingwold. It took an indirect and surprising route through villages I can't remember seeing before. That's despite travelling by bus to secondary school in Easingwold most days for 7 years. The bus journey today was very picturesque, almost every village looked like a set from Downton Abbey.

Mum sells cakes and jams at Easingwold country market so we went along and offered our services as tasters.

In the afternoon we helped set up the fairly recently refurbished village hall for a talk on World War 1. Mum is part of a history group and has been doing research on the village and local RAF base connections for years. While she went to deliver the talk, we went to the pub and met up with my school friends. A great catch up session, I hadn't seen them in almost a year, and I feel right at home. Lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.