Plus ça change...

By SooB

Rendering

This is obviously pre-render. I don't have an 'after' shot. Actually, before is more attractive - but after is very much more likely to keep the dampness outside, where it belongs.

Up early this morning, so that the builders didn't arrive while I was still in bed. I needn't have worried. I'd had breakfast, showered, dressed, hauled the cement mixer outside and made nearly a whole curtain before they showed up, clearly in need of some strong 'Mr B-recipe' coffee. Regardless, the work was done, even if it was finished by the light of a mobile phone (our outside light being of the 'romantic lighting' variety).

While they worked, I curtained. I have probably complained about this before, but the curtain requirements here are a little overwhelming. A whole load of 60s/70s designer fabric from my Aunty's unused stash has eased the burden somewhat, but I remain somewhat depressed that despite working all day I am still only half way through the curtains for one room. But tomorrow curtains must wait, as I have to varnish a ceiling (yes, that's a job I've been putting off since Friday).

Time though today to work through CarbBoy's homework with him, nag the kids a million times about doing something other than minecraft, search for the flower pots I make brioche in (cue a very confusing conversation with Mr B over the phone "Sorry, I think the line is breaking up, I thought you said flower pots for brioche...?"), search the whole internet for black sandshoes/plimsolls for CarbBoy's Christmas show, and make the kids think I'm the best Mam in the world by downloading the second Dragon movie for them.

A mixed bag. And too cold to garden, which is what I expected to be doing today. I have officially become a gardening wimp - it was not cold today by Northumbrian definitions, my Mam would probably have been out there in a t-shirt earthing up the leeks (except that obviously in Northumberland leeks are a man's business). Tomorrow there's some sunshine; perhaps the leeks will get a look in then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.