Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

End of the Rainbow

I'd already posted this on Twitter and Facebook so I was not going to use it for today's Blip, but I liked it and it summed up the day fairly well. It was much brighter and sunnier than I expected today as I headed into town to the Farmers' Market, I had my sights set on a Hog Roast Roll for lunch and not buying too much at the market... The Oink van wasn't there! Disaster! It's always at the Farmers' Market! Hopefully this was just a one-off and it will be back, of course they do have a shop on Victoria Street and another on Canongate but I like to grab one at the market

Anyway as I was not planning to go to the Stockbridge Market on Sunday so I picked up a venison striploin steak, some pheasant and apple sausages and some chicken liver pate. I spotted a new stall that was selling pasta "meals", it's not actually an entire meal but they sell a pack which contains a bag of fresh pasta, a bag of "paste" (to make a sauce) and small packets of "additional" herbs/spices/cheese or whatever. I got a packet of "Puttanesca Fiore" which along with the pasta and paste came with a single chilli and fresh parsley, it just needs chicken and tomatoes added to it. It will be interesting to see if it's better than the usual pasta I make with dried pasta and a jar of sauce. I also picked some beers from Eden Brewery, they have a couple new beers I had to try, one is a "Milk Chocolate Oatmeal Stout" called "The Coo", the other is a "Chilli and Ginger Porter".

After the market it started to drizzle, which made a lovely rainbow beside Edinburgh Castle, I decided to wander up to The Hanging Bat for a Hot Dog but the rain got heavier so I ducked into The Red Squirrel and had a bacon cheese burger instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.