Journey Through Time

By Sue

Vintage Cover Art

An e-blip as it was not a good day for photography. Quite a stormy, wet day and when it let up, I went outside, but was totally uninspired. So, as a late entry for the day, let me introduce you to Horace C. Gaffron who was the artist for these charming Good Housekeeping magazine covers from 1937 and 1938. This photo doesn't do them justice. The matting is actually a dark blue.

When we were in Manzanita, Oregon, staying at our beach house (in the late 1970's) that we had at that time, there was a garage/estate sale that we walked to, and it was a wonderful sale. This person had collected hundreds of magazine covers and magazines. We grabbed up quite a few and eventually, I had three framed. These three are in my hallway, but I was only able to get two of them in the photo. This artist had a series of covers all with the same theme....a main story line with a child and then a smaller bit of art at the bottom that carries the story to some sort of a conclusion or continuation. My aunt took the ones with the little girl and I took the ones with the boy. Eventually she gave me the other covers and I think I still have them stashed somewhere. These are original and I've always thought they were just the most charming images. If you google Horace Gaffron you will see his wonderful artwork.

Countdown to Thanksgiving and also our son's birthday a few days after that begins...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.