Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Silky Rugs

As we made our way back to the car ready to pack everything from our holiday and head for home we walked past a carpet shop.

A little explanation is required here - the Wonderspouse was, for many years, a carpet showroom manager, specializing in luxury floorings and so on, so he has a particular interest in, and extensive knowledge of, all types of carpet, wood, amtico, vinyl, rug and so on.

It also means that we very rarely pass a flooring shop without, at the very least, a glance in the window. These silky (although not actually silk) rugs caught my eye as we stared into one window. I hesitated, then decided that I really shouldn't buy one.

However, we got as far as the end of the street and the Wonderspouse turned round. We went into the shop and much discussion ensued as to whether we liked the blue or the grey best. I then got completely lost as some sort of sophisticated and subtle bargaining went on - in the end we came out with BOTH rugs, paying considerably less for them than the original asking price.

The Wonderspouse is good at this sort of thing - he's done it before with rugs, and also with other textiles, such as a silk scarf in Italy that he got for half the asking price.

He said, as we walked out of the shop yesterday: "That's exactly how much I thought we'd pay for them"!

All I can do is watch with admiration at all this bargaining.

And I now have two lovely soft rugs to run my toes through!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.