The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Kep

Emma and I had a day trip to Kep, a small town famous of its crab. I drove the both of us on my motorbike and it took exactly 30 minutes on mostly good quality roads.

Our first stop was the famous Kep crab market. I had a picture of it in my mind and it was nothing like that. There were a bunch of stalls for tourists, selling everything from bracelets to grilled fish but no crab. Then at the water's edge were all the crab sellers surrounded by a hectic group of Khmer customers frantically hand-picking each crab directly from the traps.

We found a crab restaurant and got the best seat right by the water and both ate some delicious crab. I had the famous Kep crab with Kampot green pepper and I now understand why it's so popular. After a brief look at the beach, we headed to the local sailing club which had been recommended for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty cocktails. We wasted a good few hours looking out over the water, drinking and playing pool before heading to another restaurant for some more crab.

I'd initially planned to stay overnight in Kep but after speaking to some locals in Kampot realised that a day trip was a better idea. We stayed the perfect amount of time. Definitely a fun and successful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.