TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

That Window of Dimming Opportunities

This new Monday did not start as slowly as I could have wished. Due to the beautiful weather perhaps. Or because our moods and appetites always change. Anyhow, after struggling with my laptop to secure my recent Blip homework, Willemien and I went down together into the front garden to tackle the wilderness there. My new garden scissors being too small for the outgrown hedge. But as I went on cutting my feelings changed. It felt good to do this outdoor job. I had to exercise patience and keep my balance on the small stone wall above the street. Somewhere higher up over my head She was silently doing her cutting job on the two big laurel shrubs. Two real monsters we have two fight against every two years before they become untamable.

So this Monday became a cutting, shaving and brooming day. And I limited myself to one third of the street hedge. After that came the brooming and collecting of leaves. O, so delicious they are these uncountable half wet, dark brown, yellow, light brown, leaves. “Deutsche Blätter”, I call them. Playing on the title of a classical german literary review. My arms are painful after all this cutting and brooming. But I passed some very healthy hours outside. And just in time, around three pm, before the sun would vanish behind the South Western Hillforest, I had my last minutes left to make a photo.

My ultimate Window of Opportunity before darkness and cold start falling down in the valley, shortening our days. She, in the meantime had cycled all the way to Blankenau...Amazing to see how she is retaking energy. I could not see myself bridging that distance. But I did the brooming, hurray! And now I leave you, dear Friends, and crawl between the blankets with tea and a book to read...or fall over snoring. Good Night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.