WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Stormy Monday

They call it stormy Monday (with thanks to HerbSusan for the idea of using song lyrics as titles!)

It was just damp this morning. But this afternoon I set off for my yoga class at the worst possible time. First, I got stuck behind a convoi exceptionnel. With clouds of spray and heavy, slow-moving traffic it was impossible to overtake and it took me half an hour instead of twenty minutes to get to the petrol station. So I was already running late. Lightning flashed overhead and the rain got so heavy that the car park was soon flooded. "Is my journey really necessary?" I wondered. I decided it wasn't, so I scurried into the supermarket to buy food for this evening. By the time I came out the weather was apocalyptic. I got literally soaked to the skin in the 30 seconds it took me to put the shopping in the boot, and I wondered whether I was going to have to wait it out. But I drove slowly and carefully through the floods, and back home the rain was relatively light. Light enough to stop and take a photo.

A couple of weeks ago I discovered Daisies of the Galaxy, a journal of beautifully blurred photos. It's more difficult than you would think to do a really good blurred photo (that doesn't look like an accident), and I have tried many times without success. I needed a bit of help from Photoshop with this one. But it is a good representation of the view of the plane trees from the car.

Today's alternative blip is a pylon and some soggy vines. And here you can see how the colours of the plane trees have changed in the last couple of weeks. And also note that the mountain you should be able to see in the background has disappeared!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.