Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Pontshill: Wintering horses....x


Horses have a sixth sense when it comes to moving onto winter pasture. I know this, from the quickening pace as we walk the mile from the stable and summer pasture to the wintering field. Jayne is leading the move, holding a headstrong horse. He senses the food and fills himself with excitement. I am holding 2 ponies. They like to use each other, perhaps as a team in order to get their human to gather pace. Their noses try to take alternate nose dives to the ground and the lush grass beneath. I feel that I am wise to this. I hold the one on my left tight enough to not get a bite from the front or booted from behind. The other, Chance by name but fortunately not by nature is more accepting that we will get there at together and not alone.

The first hard frost hasn't lifted. Jaynes little dog murphy battles against the cold. He stays with her, his little body shivering , steaming in the long frozen grass. The horses will do well in here. Its surrounded by wood and hedgerow for shelter and warmth... and plenty of food and they know it too....x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.