chaos

By Chaos

the Basics

In one of my recent posts blueplanetphotos commented that I could improve my photography by better knowing:

1. The fundamental physics of light
2. Camera operation (how to control light in camera)
3. Observing light and its interaction with objects

Missing recently mentioned noise and it's affects on post-processing.

Recently I have been swinging my thoughts and reading to Photoshop, more post-processing knowledge. I think that is OK but now, because of blueplanetphotos recommendation, I have also picked up a couple of books on light, and night and low-light photography to build a better knowledge base of the basics.

I wanted to see the affects of receptor speed (ISO) and the noise created. This image was taken with an ISO of 3200 in dim light, lots of noise! I took other images with different speeds and then magged them up and manipulated them in PS to see the difference the noise makes with some applications and filters.

Oh, you may have noticed the mushroom there. It has been raining a lot, the Alaskan monsoon is upon us and the mushrooms are really growing. I put the little tricycle in there for some scale. Compare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.