Edinburgh Exchange 2014

By emarr

Campus Life

It's coming up for 5pm and it's already getting dark. I know it's only going to keep getting darker too - soon it'll be 3.30 and the sun will be going down!

It's also getting to the time where university life is getting busy. Assignment due dates here are all around the same time - end of November/start of December - so it's now time to sit down and actually spend my days in the library.

There have been problems here, though mine haven't been as bad a some. I've been using the database from my home university mostly because the database here is just not the same. It's very limited in what it has on offer to students, especially when you are required to use a set amount of sources.

The teachers here are all so nice too, well, the ones that I have are at least. I'm not too sure on others but that's the norm at any university really. I've heard from plenty of people though that they are very harsh markers here and that the university student grade average is a C.

The staff here have always been willing to help, especially the Exchange Office staff - or RILO as they are called here. They are always happy to have a chat and give you hints on the best places to see, eat and drink at. Even one of my tutors let us know about a nice bar that had opened recently!

I found it difficult to make friends with the Scots here at first. Many had their own little groups already and weren't comfortable with letting someone from the 'outside' in. However, after a few weeks I finally got some friends in my classes and plenty of friends in halls.

This is the first time I've ever lived by myself and had to really cook for myself everyday too. I thought it would be a struggle but I've actually enjoyed it. Spending time cooking new foods is sometimes the best part of the day. Who even knew ordering groceries could be exciting either?!

It's been an amazing experience so far - travelling and living on campus. I miss home, my friends, and my family most of all. At the same time though, I don't really want it to end. I'm loving it so much here, Edinburgh is such an amazing, vibrant city! I could easily see myself living and working here in the future...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.