Texann Times

By Texann

Will work for food

I’m beginning to think we’ll need to relandscape our entire garden! I popped outside to see what I could find for today’s blip and… nothing! All there was were things that are dead or dormant for the winter or that we’ve already blipped at least once. And we’re only into our second month of blipping! Panic!

Fortunately this solitary paper wasp appeared. My dad might not appreciate me giving this insect the honour of being featured in one of my blips since one of these stung him badly last year when he and my mum came to visit. To be fair to the wasp, my dad was sticking his finger (unknowingly in his defense) right into the centre of the wasp’s nest at the time!?!

This wasp’s back leg was flailing around for a while and it wasn’t until later that I realized it was trying to get itself into this rather uncomfortable-looking, braced position (who knew wasps could do the splits?), so that it could have a good chomp on the leaf stems of our shrub. I suppose it’s only fair that we should provide sustenance to this chappie since, last year, many of his brethren were ‘punished’ for the stinging wasp’s transgression.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.