Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Stalk Eyed Fly

I saw and Blipped my first ever stalk eyed fly on my last day in Bandung, just as I was leaving to work in China, 11th April 2014. How ironic is it that I should find and Blip my second on my first bug safari after my return!

I was unable to identify the fly last time as I was in a mad rush, but this time, there was no problem finding this bug with its distinctive eyes.

Identification – family Diopsidae.

First impression would be that these strange appendages evolved to give the bug an ocular advantage for food gathering or avoiding predators. But, from a quick read on the subject, the eye stalk thing is for mate selection, the longer stalks being more desirable to the female.

Women huh!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.