No Photography

I went for a wander with my camera late afternoon today, and ended up in a street with loads of interesting looking stuff, including a couple of rickety old buses. Whist snapping away, I was approached by a determined looking bloke who started shouting at me to stop. I ignored him, took a few more, and then walked away as he continued barking at me.

Big mistake.

Twenty seconds later, I was at the side of the road with eight armed policemen who confiscated my camera and started quizzing me about who I was and why I was taking photos of a wall with a pipe sticking out of it, an old chair, a bus...etc. The bloke who first stopped me wanted blood; you could see it in his eyes. I was in a particularly bad mood before I was stopped anyway, and my distinctly frosty attitude just seemed to wind him up even more. I took great pleasure in brushing him off whilst I dealt with the more polite man, who seemed to be in charge of the group. In the end, the main guy was decent enough, and once he deleted everything he found suspicious (which was everything), he politely warned me not to take any more photos in Maadi. As I walked away, they all started shouting at each other. I didn't look back.

And I took this five minutes later.

Having only recently started getting much more confident walking around with my camera in Maadi, this situation has knocked me a bit, but angered me more. When I got back, Larissa pointed out that winding up men with guns is not a very sensible thing to do. She's probably right.

And to think, the likelihood of me publishing an image today was 55.7%.


---> Video - Statistical Heaven

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.