Meanwhile, On a Remote and Snowy Planet . . .

. . . two small figures set out, trudging through the snow.

On this day, a powerful winter storm set its course for the northeastern United States. It sent people scurrying to the store for bread and milk, many activities were postponed, and hundreds of flights at regional airports were cancelled.

We were among the fortunate ones. While it snowed all day, the snow totals in central PA where we live were just four inches, not nearly as much as points to the north and east. I could have taken the bus in to work, but it seemed to me that if I did that, the biggest adventure of the day might be simply trying to get back home. So I scheduled an impromptu day of work at home instead, and stayed inside the snug house with my husband and the Tabbycat.

After 4 p.m., I went outside to check the snow conditions and take some pictures. This was the wintry scene that awaited me: every tree and bush was covered in a powder of winter white and it was still snowing gently. Within that great frozen landscape, two small figures set out on an adventure, trudging through the snow.

What, you think it's strange to see a Dancing Girl riding a cat through a snowstorm? Well, I admit it's something I've never seen before either, Dancing Girls being somewhat rare in these parts this time of year. But there it is. I have seen it and you have too!

The theme song for this image is from the Rolling Stones, and it's dedicated to that Dancing Girl, making her way through a winter snowstorm. The tune is the Rolling Stones, with She's So Cold. Have no fear, though. That Dancing Girl may be a bit chilly, but she's of hardy stock and she'll make it through, no matter what!

P.S. A notable milestone: this day is the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, and last year on that day, my new camera, a Canon SX 50 HS, arrived. So it's one year old. And in that year, I've taken 68,718 pictures with it . . . Happy anniversary to my camera, and here's to many more photos of beautiful and whimsical scenes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.