In Which There Is Snow!

On this day, the weather forecast was calling for a few inches of "wintry mix," which means snow mixed with ice and/or freezing rain. We got about five inches of snow in the morning - which was quite a bit more than expected - before it changed over to freezing rain and ice in the afternoon. By evening, we had a full-scale ice event going on. (More about that tomorrow.)

I was back and forth between my office and campus several times on this day for meetings, and I took many pictures of the snow from beneath my red umbrella. Campus is relatively deserted, as it is a holiday week and almost all of the students have gone home. It's a perfect time for photography!

This is the view looking down the mall below the library, lined with the elms for which our campus is famous. At the bottom of the hill is College Avenue, where town and gown meet.

And just on the other side of College Avenue? The Corner Room, which serves up the best french onion soup I know of! Happily, my schedule permitted a speedy visit and a nice hot bowl of soup. I ate it with great gusto while sitting contentedly in my little booth inside, warm and snug, peacefully watching the snow.

Is there anything better than a bowl of hot, delicious soup and a good view on a cold and snowy winter's day? I think not. :-)

The song: Dean Martin, Let It Snow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.