John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Maigret Plus ...

An intestinal bug had me in its grip all day--fortunately only one long bout of diarrhea, but otherwise incredible lethargy kept me mostly in bed.  When I wasn't dozing I read Georges Simenon (this is entitled Maigret se trompe ("Maigret is mistaken")--I'll learn about what at the end).

A friend recommended the Maigret books as a easy way to read French  rapidly, and thus learn more.  So far it's working wonderfully--this is my second, and Simenon wrote 72 of them--so I won't run out soon (the price is also right--5 euros each).

The blip shows our favorite inexpensive wine, Carrefour's house brand of creme caramel, and some fruit--which is terrific in Paris. I'm beginning to perk up, so I may have a bit of wine tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.