madwill's world

By madwill

Turbo Dyson

I know these things are supposed to be powerful but.....

A while ago our daughter had a problem with her vacuum cleaner - and nasty, smelly smoke was coming out of it.

And today I finally got around to seeing if I could fix it.

So I plugged it in, switched on and sure enough it was smoking. So I took the wheel off and removed the filter and tried it again, only to be confronted with flames shooting out the side of the motor housing.

I took it outside to get this shot, but the timing was not great and the flames are actually shrinking back so it doesn't show how big they really were. I only did the one shot as I didn't want to set the thing on fire!

I tried to get it all apart - but having checked on the web it seems new motors are not readily available, so it seemed pretty pointless anyway.

I did offer to buy her a new one for Christmas - but that got a fairly frosty reception :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.