The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Tin Spirits/ Lifesigns - Live At The Globe

We now enter another bonkers period of live music. Tonight kick started four gigs between now and December 9th!

Tonight was all about Tin Spirits and Lifesigns, both are under that now very broad umbrella that is prog rock.

I had only picked up the Tin Spirits album yesterday in Spillers Records, when I ordered it a couple of weeks back I had no idea they were supporting Lifesigns. Matt (Cohen-from The Reasoning) has been raving about them of late. I can see why, between a few listens in the last twenty four hours and seeing them live they have really grown on me. Their claim to fame if you like is they have the guitarist from XTC, Dave Gregory, in their line-up. You remember him .. he as always making plans for Nigel. I have pictured their bassist, Mark Kilminster, here, who was wearing a rather natty hat!

Fair play I thoroughly enjoyed their set. I was a bit frazzled when I got there due to parking issues, and I was down on the guest list for the evening, except I wasn't when I got to the door .. so I had to blag my way in.

Matt was there, so I had a chat to him. I also got introduced to John Young, the singer and keyboard player with Lifesigns. Now his claim to fame is he is in Bonnie Tylers band, alas she was away skiing or else she would have been in the crowd.

Lifesigns are most definitely in the prog bracket. I rather like them, and Fridge Full Of Stars and Carousel are two stand out tracks for this year across everything I have bought.

They played an excellent set including some new stuff and some of John's solo stuff, which I will have to look into!

It was a cracking night, and it was great to get out with the dSLR which has been gathering dust somewhat at the moment!

I have made a start at editing the photos, they are in this Flickr Album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.