Sydney

By Sydney

Frost!

Finally some frost! I am delighted to see it, it makes everything special. Details are highlighted that I otherwise rush by without noticing. A completely uninspired photo is offered here through the windshield as I wait to drive off to work, but I loved the sun on the Liriodendron tulipifera in my neighbors yard. I sigh because they have built their home 4 feet from the trunk which means that at some point they will take this beautiful tree out deciding it is a nuisance. I haven't met them, but I'm siding with the tree. I remember in one of my horticulture classes, a professor saying that he once found an 8' bathtub in an antique store carved from a cross section of this tree. He desperately wished to purchase it but his wife refused him so the bath looms large in his sighing in front of the fire dreams.

All I do is work anymore, hence no blips from me. I am so tired every day that my friends think I have entered the 'witness protection program' (a secret desire I must admit) as I am missing from phone calls, emails and outings. The two women who work with me are 11 and 16 years my junior and I do take heart from the fact that they go home each day at 3:15 and nap to recover from the day. We are all doing ridiculous things such as calling one child Turkeyo (her name is Tokyo) because it's been a month of turkey art projects. While I was writing Baron's name on his project he told me his favorite color was yellow so that's what I wrote instead of his name. One of my assistants came with gum stuck on the back of her sweatshirt and the other one explained that she might get it out by placing a cloth over it and setting the oven on low and slowly moving it back and forth across the peanut butter-we totally understood she meant iron/gum but didn't even bother to comment on the error. We're too tired.
How can 4 3-year olds lay waste to 3 adults? 3 of them are being referred to psychiatric neurologists, does that help clarify? My afternoon class is far simpler but this morning class--Good Heavens!
Hope you are all well, you are in my heart if not on the end of my typing fingertips. xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.