Reflections

After a nice breakfast with D under the arches of Glasgow Central Station, he headed off to work and I headed West along the Clyde. At the Clyde Arc (also known as Glasgow's "Squinty Bridge", I was surprised to see hundreds of plastic crosses fixed to the railings. I found out that these are the work of an Ayrshire artist called Brian Carey and there is one cross for every man, woman and dog killed in Afghanistan as a result of war. Each cross has on it a name and the place and manner of death. Recently added are black plastic letters, commemorating a WW1 soldier, Jimmy Frew, and a two year old child who died of starvation in Damascus. Not an easy Bridge to cross.
I spent some time in the lovely Mitchell Library, reading Don McCuillin's book "Shaped by War". No wonder he concentrates on landscapes nowadays.
This afternoon I spent at the Glasgow Buddhist Centre, at an event which was part of Scottish Interfaith Week. Four different kinds of meditation - Ignatian Contemplation, Quaker silence, and two kinds of Buddhist practice. One of these, called Metta, was very moving, and calming after all I'd seen and done earlier.
Tonight I'm at Glasgow City Hall where the SCO are performing Handel's "Messiah". Student in the stalls - £5. Nice :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.