Birthday Bang!!!

This was never the shot I intended for today. Today the twins turned ten. I anticipated a birthday cake, maybe smiling faces as presents were opened but not to be. The twins had a hockey game tonight and as many of you know Fraser, due to his skating power and skill skates against players significantly older and significantly bigger physically than he is.

He is a defense man, fast, skillful and very tough despite his size but tonight my heart missed a beat as I watched helpless as he took the full force of a vicious slap shot, the puck striking his helmet. He rocked on his skates before taking a knee and lowering himself to the ice. The referees immediately blew the game to a stop and rushed to him. I watched on from the bench as he slowly got to his feet however it was obvious he was hurt he was wobbling as he skated back towards the bench and the pain was etched on his face, his helmet damaged where he had been struck just on the left temple. He reached for the bench barrier to steady himself his legs had gone and as I opened the gate I had to help him from the ice as I scanned him for signs of blood he complained of pain and feeling sick and I immediately took him from the bench and away from the prying eyes of the crowd grabbing his water bottle. I took his helmet off carefully and now, away from the glare of his team mates the tears silently streamed down is little face, his palour too dropped and I gently took him down on a knee and poured the water over his head to help get his mop of hair out the way to see if he was cut, he had a huge swelling on his temple.

I untied his skates and he slipped the off and I walked with him to the dressing room, he was unsteady and rocking a little, I stripped off his top, shoulder pads, neck and shoulder guards and he slipped his top back on. He sat, white like his top, head bowed and taking on some water when his team mates returned to the dressing room. there was a lot of concern from his line and from a lot of the parents and the coaches and referee had called the medics. The first responders helped him to the medical facility which as you may imagine as a venue for professional hockey is well equipped. He was given the best attention and monitored for a significant period before being released. A probable concussion, a lucky escape... Happy Birthday!!!

All I could think of as events unfolded was the Australian cricketer Phil Hughes who was struck on the head earlier this week and as a result tragically passed away aged only 25. A young life, a brilliant bright shining light extinguished whilst playing a game beloved, it is a tragedy. It is an abject lesson of how finite life is and how every day should be enjoyed for none of us know what tomorrow may bring.

Tonight the shot is Fraser, not how I envisaged him but on a stretcher being tended by medics to whom I am very grateful...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.