It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

More Bikey Stuff

Still in Edinburgh, the alarm sounded at 5:30am. We both had a day off and were heading to swimming at the Commie Pool. I struggled but Rosemary swam like a swordfish! It was good to see coach and old friend Scott, a triathlon living legend....having competed at the Kona Ironman on numerous occasions. Scott does great sessions, managing to accommodate many individual needs in a fun way! I wish every triathlon swim coach could watch Scott..... Everything is made simple, makes sense, is specific and creative too.

We then rode home, had a quick slice of toast and then headed back up the Bridges where Rosemary was having a bike fit. I was riding her road bike through rush hour traffic....no mean feat as it's about 10 sizes too small for me. Having two bike fits is an all morning job! Although I understand the principles well, i couldn't do the job myself and was keen to learn a bit about it. Gotta say that Rosemary's final position looked pretty 'pro'! She needed a new stem and her bar extensions cut so a further visit is required. Her road bike was much quicker with her current set-up being almost perfect.

Lunch was then debated and we decided on the Roseleaf. I got the bus down to Leith and Rosemary cycled home, dropped off her bike and still got there before me. I was a bit disappointed that old mate Johnny the landlord wasn't in but we still had a fine nosebag! Johnny n his wife Lynn have transformed a 'spit n sawdust' boozer, frequented by Leith hookers, to a place where old Leither's and newcomers mix comfortably. They also serve great pub food with a menu to suit every taste! It's always mobbed! Genius!

The day ended with the long trip back to Manchester!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.