It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Baristas, Bikes and Bratwurst

Bloody hell" I though, sitting on the 6:40am train just outside Guide Bridge. I was going to miss my connection! The joys of technology.....I checked my National Rail app seeing that there was a 1hr 49min gap to the next train to Hope where I was working. I had half joked about running there, via Kinder. However, the thought of a 30km run in the Peak on a December morning and the associated knackeredness prevented me from doing so. I was pleased that some of my colleagues thought I was daft enough to do so.

I was now stuck in town but fortunately had my camera to amuse me. The light was kinda cooL and the streets quiet. After about half an hour, my hands began to freeze on what was possibly the coldest morning of the new winter. I then accidentally found myself by North Tea just after opening time and opted for a warming latte.

I wandered back to Piccadilly and onto the train for the journey through the peak. Wow......frost everywhere and a clear, perfect sky. I arrived at my destination just short of 60 minutes late. It was a great day observing a course. In the afternoon a local group of kids arrived for an after schools cycling session. After the coached bit, they were left to play on their bikes. First a two lap race and then a free-for-all. Three girls asked if they could practice mounting and dismounting. "Of course" I said. They set of down the field, leaping on and off their bikes like Belgian cyclo-cross ballerinas lacking fear in only a way kids can. Then they started synchronising their leaps on a count of 5! Wow.....they were amazing.

My next task was to man the limbo poles, even helping them go lower by suggesting the 'hand sideyways' technique. It was then time for them to go, all shouting "thank you" cheerfully. These kids were all really fit, happy to be outside and healthy........an example to us all!

After Helping tidying away bikes and equipment, I ventured into the village for coffee, a scone and to thaw out. Rosemary would have pulled a face as I met a lovely black lab in the cafe and ended up tickling the hound's tummy for a few minutes! Cheek that it wanted scone too! My love of dogs has a limit!

The evening was spent watching colleagues at the xmas ice rink followed by a few festivities at Xmas Market. I hate ice so chose to miss the skating, and only drink now if it's a special beer or similar. The food was filthy too so I had a really cheap night, not spending a penny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.