Seasonal Attraction

Crossing Trafalgar Square this morning I was fascinated to see two Harris Hawks flying around, dive bombing unsuspecting tourists! I at first thought it was another gimmick to entertain those who want their photograph taken with and in front of everything. It turns out, though, that these birds of prey are brought it as one means of controlling the pigeons, of which there are far too many. I was amused by this hawk on top of one of the famous lions and it somehow sums up my day which was one of contrasts.

I was on my way to the nearby National Portrait Gallery for one of their Singing Days with the Artistic Director of the 'Portrait Choir'. The music was focused on 18th Century composers such as Purcell and Handel. We worked on a few pieces over the day with short demos of 18th century instruments thrown in before a final very short 'performance' under the portrait of Handel up in one of the galleries.

I had a lot of fun, learned a lot about singing techniques and the way to tackle this particular period and met some lovely and interesting people. It is humbling to work with someone who has more musical ability in one hair of his head than I have in my entire body! I will go again for another one of these days - just brilliant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.