Had A Butcher's For Small Shops

After my experience at Westfield shopping centre yesterday it was pleasant to go out in the sunshine, roof down, looking for small shops to photograph for an IG project.

I got a nice village general stores in Churchgate Street and a lovely bakery at a farm that was home to one of my children's friends, famous for getting his head stuck in a chair at school.

I looked in Hatfield Broad Oak for the tiny shop from which I hired a gorgeous black dress for my son's beautiful, feisty, Dutch girlfriend to wear to his graduation ball. She burnt it with a ciggie and I had to buy it for her. The shop was no longer there.

I like the old-fashioned Broad Oak butcher's sign that I have posted and the shadows from its mountings. The site of RH Simons Broad Oak Butchers has the very modern problem of having been hacked.

I discovered my last small shop of the day in Hatfield Heath, a lovely little seafood bar. I wanted to buy some jellied eels for MrQ but had spent my last fiver on parking at Hatfield Forest. Their card machine hasn't arrived yet. I plan to take MrQ there for Prosecco and oysters on 13th December.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.