Up close

Thank you to you all for giving my bellbird his day in the spotlight. I'm sure he appreciates it; I know I do.

Today's waxeye greeted me this morning when I got to work at 7 a.m. He was sitting right in the middle of the back path to my office. I was on my way out to the rubbish bins when I spotted him, and I went back inside for my camera, assuming he'd be gone when I got back.

Nope. He was sitting in exactly the same spot, crying for his Mum. I got literally in his face, lying on the cold concrete, using my 60mm lens (this is completely uncropped - it's totally SOOC). He looked me in the eye and peeped - I'm sure he was asking "Are you my mother?" (PD Eastman aka Dr Seuss).

Once I'd taken a couple of dozen photos of him I used my jacket to pick him up, and carefully moved him to the garden 2 feet away. I couldn't leave him sitting in the path as it would have been far too likely that someone would stand on him.

He was fluffed up like a little powder puff - they are usually sleek wee birds.

Anyway, I've never been that up close and personal with a waxeye before - well not a live one. Check him out here really close up - that feather detail is gorgeous.

My first day back at work went well. I only achieved about a quarter of what I had intended, but that's pretty normal really!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.