todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Bookworm..

This is the absolutely beautiful and very, very impressive main room in the State Library of Adelaide.

From the hustle and bustle of the modern downstairs hub, to the majestic, familiar and comforting silence of the traditional library.

I spent the most time in this part - recognising the cool atmosphere, which protects the books I'm guessing and wondering what the few students who were deep in thought were studying.

As I watched the Adelaidean students in the most inspirational of surroundings, it took me back to my own days as a student.

I studied with the Open University in my thirties. Distance learning meant I had to find a way of studying that suited me. I ended up spending lots of time in the Mitchell Library in Glasgow. A beautiful old building with the type of quiet, learned atmosphere I was looking for, it helped me find my student groove.

I was moved today by the experience of being in this space. If I'd studied here, I thought to myself, I'd have nailed first class honours...

Today outof10? An inspirational 9 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.