Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Deed is Done!

Archie had a nice long walk this morning. There was a glorious pink sky, but I couldn’t get a good vantage point. Both Archie and the bank balance are slightly lighter than they were this morning...

Did I mention that the walk was very long? I'd timed the walk to the vet at my last visit and knew it was a half hour stroll...

WRONG!

It was 45 minutes! And that was stomping along at a fair pace!! I don't stomp along at all well, so I was quite glad that Archie still has a tendency to pull on the lead. If he'd known what he was rushing towards, I'm sure he would not have been quite so keen..

I get very warm inside when walking at normal stroll, so steam is coming off me if I have to hurry. I had my winter coat on, but had to have it zipped up to keep my chest warm. Which has the effect of being in a portable sauna. By the time we got to the vet my big moon face was bright red, with a delicate shine of sweat perspiration, my hair was sticking to my head under my hat, and I was gasping as we staggered in the door - on time! Just as well it was a vet practice, so it was obvious which one was the prospective patient...

I took the bus into town to further my nascent Festive Spirit. This had the opposite effect, I'm afraid. The 'Winter Wonderland' might look charming at night with lights a-twinkle, but jings - it just looks rather desperate and depressing in the cold light of day. I hurried by as fast as I could without pounding and got the bus home.

The vet rang about midday to say that Archie was fine, all went well. We picked him up about 2pm. And what a little high pitched squeak he kept emitting. Never heard that one before. Not crying, just a very sorry-for-himself noise.

This is a quick shot of Harry Lauder's Walking Stick. It's the only plant I know the name of in our garden.

Archie's given up looking at us with big accusing eyes, and he's sleeping at the moment and hopefully snoozes all evening, which is his norm anyway. Poor wee chap. There will no jumping up on the sofa this evening...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.