a town called E.

By Eej

Docks

After hours of cleaning, laundry, planting seeds* and the general saturday business I said: "PLEASE get me out of here!" And when I say I "said", I meant something between yelling and urging.
So, we went out.
The weather was dreary, grey skies, rain, overall blehness, but the lakes around here are always wonderful, any time of day, any time of year.

We went to Three Mile Lake, which is quite close. Last spring the water table was incredibly high (we had floods everywhere, including our basement), and it stayed that way through summer. Autumn and winter didn't help which accounts for a lot of submerged foliage and docks being below waterlevel. There's still ice there, as you can see, but it is now paper thin.

It was very, very quiet. In summer people from Chicago visit their summer houses there, but on dreary days like this there's nobody around. Just us :)

After the lake we went to Prospect Hill for my weekly dose of cemetery. Just a short stroll because the ground is so mushy it makes walking a bit of a bother and I wasn't up for that. Not today anyway.


*SO excited! So far we're doing tomatoes and a variety of peppers. Last years tomato crop was excellent, but the peppers were a major failure.


Blip-rejects:
Lady
Rocks


It doesn't look too bad large either :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.