Nothing is worth more

By libbys

through a hedge darkly

When I first came to Edinburgh to live permanently nearly 30 years ago now, I remember saying to my friend and colleague Trish that I had found the street I wanted to buy myself a flat in....when I told her, she burst out laughing. Ann Street I said. Only about the most expensive street in the city she said! And so I began to learn about the hierarchies of area in Edinburgh.

It did not stop me offering for overpriced flats in the New Town but I am forever grateful to my friend Freeland, who pointed out how green Morningside was by comparison and my now brother in law John who encouraged me to stretch myself and buy a two bedroom not a one bedroom flat...and so I have been happily living in the same flat in Morningside since then , with the Pentland Hills at my back and Blackford Hill, the Hermitage and the Braids on my doorstep. Thanks both of you!

(I still cycle up Ann Street whenever I get the chance, as on this day, but now I have a new favourite street, in Morningside of course, Albert Terrace which I have just this morning learned used to be called Doo Lane until Q. Victoria got married!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.