The bitter end

Back in the office this morning and it was bitterly sad. There are piles of stationery and electrical equipment and teams of people moving furniture onto waiting vans. These teams are from local schools but, I'm proud to say, some of the bookcases and module materials are going to a prison in Kent.

The building receptionist arranged nibbles and gluewein round the reception desk in the lobby because the OU's reception desk was already gone. We made it to 13:00, wandering round like zombies wondering what was happening, until someone decided that it made no sense staying so we all said our final goodbyes and went our separate ways. It was heart-wrenching.

I checked my mails when I got home and there is one from a student I helped at residential school earlier this year. She wanted to let me know that she had completed her degree and to let me know the classification. I must admit to shedding a few tears (again).

I'm nominally working until Friday and I have a couple of little tasks to complete but today marks the end of my time working for the OU in the South East and as prisons' coordinator for the south and east of England. I'll start thinking about a new job (or collection of jobs) in January. Tonight I shall raise a glass to the men and women who have made the last eight years such a delight. If you'd like to see photos of some of them please check out the Facebook page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.