An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

An Important Introduction...

Backblip

Slow start to Sunday. Well for me and Alan. David was up sharp. I think he likes the house to himself with Alan and I both snoring away in our respective corners. :-))

Of course I soon regretted my lie in as there was loads I wanted to get done before our visitors arrived in the afternoon. Thankfully I'd forgotten I'd told them to come at 2.30pm and thought they were coming at 2.00pm so in the end, I actually looked very organised! ;-))

My stepdad John was visiting this afternoon and bringing with him someone special to meet us for the first time, his new lady friend Norma. Poor John was so nervous about telling me he'd met Norma incase I'd be upset but I feel the complete opposite. I am over the moon for him. I love him like a dad and I know how hellish the last three years since my mum died have been for him. I am so happy that he has found someone to share his life with.

So they arrived at 2.30pm, as nervous as teenagers meeting the parents for the first time. I was a little nervous myself too if I'm honest but I know what high standards John has when it comes to women, so I knew all would be well.

And it was.

Norma is just the loveliest of ladies. Kind, warm and a great sense of humour. We all had a lovely afternoon together. She was lovely with Alan and he was absolutely charmed by her from the outset. In fact he told his Grandpa to leave the room and leave Norma chatting to him!

Afternoon tea with scones and cake and lots of chat and laughter and complete ease in each other's company. They are clearly smitten with each other and it fills me with much happiness to know even in your late 70s, Cupid's Arrow can still strike.

As they were leaving, Norma gave me a tight hug and whispered "I am so sorry about your mum," an unexpected gesture but it really touched me. I whispered back that I was so very happy that John had met her, and with that they left smiling and waving.

I very much look forward to getting to know our new member of the family. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.