Fourth Bird

But this one is not a native - introduced from Great Britain in the 1860's by the settlers who missed the sound of their songbirds. It is believed that there are now far more thrushes in New Zealand than there are in Britain.

I guess out climate suits them.

This one was just about to have his dinner - that he'd caught himself - but at this point he is looking to his mum for approval and he wouldn't eat that grub until she'd told him how clever he was.

It put me in mind of my cat who insisted on bringing her rodent catches in alive and wouldn't kill them until I'd admired them appropriately. Not my favourite activity at 2 in the morning!

Thanks folks - yesterday's tui might not have made the top spot but it did spend some of today gracing the top row of spotlight. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.