Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

Greylag geese

This morning I joined the U3A Birdwatching Group on their visit to Venus Pool Nature Reserve near Shrewsbury. It was extremely cold with crispy white frost covering the ground and plants. The hides were bittterly cold for sitting though it was a lovely sunny morning which was great for visibility. We didn't see any thing unusual but it's always good to see lapwings, shovelers etc. and a pair of bullfinches were in the trees.

This afternoon I went down the garden to refill the bird feeders. Inside the seed feeder was a little wood mouse sitting nibbling the seeds that it was holding. I tried to get a shot of it but the plastic was too opaque, it must have got in through a feeding port as the lid was firmly on. I wonder if it's one of the family that took up residence in the shed last year?
The birds will have to wait for the refill as I don't want to disturb the new diner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.