Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tough Love

Right. That's it. Another night of disturbed sleep while you-know-who is on the bed.

He was really agitated all afternoon and evening - restless, running to door, not settling down, jumping like something had nipped him in the rear end. He frequently examined his nether regions and so was shouted at to stop.

Nothing else for it - the lampshade had to go on. He then went as far away as he could - the kitchen door, and sat and whined. Took the lampshade off. He was so miserable with it on, I relented. And if he wasn't going to wear it at night, then he'd have to sleep on the bed so that I'd know if he was licking inappropriately.

Big mistake. He ran around the bed every few minutes for most of the night, trying to get comfortable. I was afraid of him falling off, spraining something, and another big vet bill...

His wound doesn't look too good. I would have thought it would be healing by now. I rang the vet. I offered to send in a photo of said wound, but they preferred to see it. And so we got the bus (no walking this time) and were there at 9:40.

Yes, the vet thought it was a bit inflamed, he must have been licking it. She said that he really MUST wear the lampshade, especially at night. He'll get used to it after a day, said she. We got some more pain killers and anitbiotics, and I came back home with added resolve. Yes. He was going to have to wear it. Feeling sorry for him is NOT helping his recovery.

And so he has had it on all morning. I've been able to do lots of jobs - he just sits there, lookimg resigned, but not crying. I've whizzed on with my book (The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry) which is just the best book I've read in a while - and I've read some good 'uns lately!

I do have a constant distraction though - this wee face gazing at me, pleadingly - just as well the book's riveting!

No, Archie. You have to wear it. All day and all night. In your own bed. I NEED my sleep!

Uncle A coming for tea tonight. Happy Birthday Uncle A.

PS Another pair of eyes were looking at me just now - a mouse!! It appeared from under the sofa. Archie didn't see it. This is WAR. My master plan is activated. Look out mice!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.