Fungus in the Wood

The photo that I took of a toadstool on Sunday was a bit hit and miss. I guessed at an identification of Clitocybe odora, but I can't be sure. Today was dull. So I hunted out my LED light that's supposed to clip into the camera's flash horseshoe, but doesn't, charged it with batteries, and along with Basil fetched down to the strip of woodland at the bottom of the estate.

Masses of these toadstools. I got down painstakingly and fitted the macro lens to the camera. I use the camera on a gorillapod for ground work but don't find these mini tripods very secure. So it took a while to get this shot. The light bank worked splendidly. You can see such detail in the gills. I'm still not sure what this fungus is.

Basil ran about contentedly in the neighbouring meadow.

Thanks to Ceridwen for an alternative identification as Clitocybe geotropa

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.