Shaddon Mill

Today I was in Carlisle to visit a reconstructive dentist, which was not as painful as it sounds (not yet, anyway).
I found myself in a part of the city I'd not visited before, and rather near a tall chimney which I always admire from the train, so I took a detour (that's what photography does) and went to see it up close. It's in a part of Carlisle ("a village within a city") called Denton Holme, which was once home to many industries. There are streets of terraced houses and most of the roads are still surfaced with cobbles.
The chimney is 290ft tall, but used to measure over 300ft and was once the tallest chimney in England. It was built by Peter Dixon in 1836 and is still known as Dixon's Chimney. The architect was Richard Tattersall from Manchester. He also designed the mill, which was then a cotton factory called Shaddon Mill, but which later changed to a wool mill. The mill has now been converted to homes and also some accommodation for the University of Cumbria. The chimney was restored in 1999 and remains a popular landmark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.