Boat

The original title was "Holed below the waterline but still yearning for the sea". That's too pretentious even for me. Had I used that title I'd have to dribble on about it being a metaphor and then I'd have become tongue-tied over what it might represent. Is it me? Is it Britain? Is it the world? The whole metaphysical question; "How am I in the world?", would have been laid open and, to be honest, I'm not that engaged just now. Of course I'm engaged with all of you, my fellow blippers, because I love each and every one of you - yes, even you at the back - but I really can't get my head round the whole intellectual acrobatics required to understand Becker's ‘Terror Management Theory’ and how our awareness of our inevitable demise drives our search for meaning. As humans we also create meaning from nothing; such are metaphors. And we allow these metaphors to become powerful and accepted as truths but I really cannot be faffed. I'm in a completely different headspace so I'll share with you something which Freud (Siggi rather than Clement) is supposed to have said. "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.