My Belle

Within 30 minutes of arriving in Glasgow this morning we were drinking tea, singing Happy Birthday and eating chocolate cake. For the student it was breakfast, for the boy and me a mid morning snack.

My girl is not so young anymore - a whole 20 years have passed. It seems quite incredulous. Yet I still gaze on her on her birthday as if she had just been born. I still feel that rush of undying love for her fingers and toes. I still see the stunned look on her ashen father's face.

I could go on about how precious she is, how she fills me with love, pride and amazement, her beauty surpassing any I know. How she is as appreciative of the Despicables Poster Book as she is of the New Camera Toy.

When she gets excited she can't stay still for a second. She and the boy laughed and laughed and I saw those special twinkling birthday eyes and glorious smile again. I do miss them.

Today she sat down an announced that 'Today will be all about the food'. She devoured the chocolate cake and put the cheese and chutney in the fridge for later, and all just before we went out for a lunch of birthday steak and chips.

Everyday you fill me with every wonderful emotion imaginable sweetheart. Know that your are loved and treasured, my precious Belle. Happy Birthday x.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.