Texann Times

By Texann

Its blight is worse than its bark

After a late breakfast at our favourite spot, Leejohnaire and I headed off in search of some appropriate buildings for a Derelict Thursday blip.

One of the back routes we take to L's chemo appointments takes us past a couple of different rundown structures and, as I mentioned yesterday, L has often commented on them longingly as we fly by. The lighting wasn't great today (flat and gray) but Derelict Thursday waits for no Blipper, and since we had some time to spend today, off we went, back to those spots. Apart from anything else, I thought it would be nice not to have to hear L's wistful comments as we drive by every couple of weeks.

We started at what we assume was an old farm building. This shot however is from the second place we visited. This dead tree is in the parking lot of an office building which was apparently set on fire almost 20 months ago. The remaining structure has been thoroughly vandalized since then and the plants are growing up around it. L finally got his Derelict Thursday blip. Although I took many shots of the remnants of the buildings, I've chosen a more natural form of dereliction for my blip. I really liked the last throes of autumnal colour from the red-leaved creeper and the large collection of what I assume is some form of bracket fungus on the tree.

After we finished our photography and were on our way home, the sun finally came out, and as we drove back past the old farm building again, I heard, "Ooh, look at the light on that now..." Clearly I'll still be hearing those wistful comments for a while yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.