New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Almost Christmas

At least the weather this morning reminded me of Christmas. I went out with my camera and a tripod, wanting to catch a little bit of this feeling on film (well digital kind of film). I took this photo in Innbærinn, the oldest part of town, and this beautiful house was built in 1849. In June I sort of accidentally visited the nice lady that owns this house, accompanied by my sister and her friend Solla. An earlier owner of this house (1887-1903) was Matthías Jochumsson, a priest and a poet. He is probably best known for composing our national anthem. Some people find the anthem a little bit difficult to sing, and would perhaps prefer a "lighter" song, but at least it's very ceremonious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.