Plus ça change...

By SooB

Healthy Appetites

Friends over for dinner tonight - the folk from the restaurant next door actually, so no pressure on the standard of cooking then! So of course, with my blipblubberbusting, we gave them a very healthy meal... mackerel pate is definitely good for you. Olives are technically a fruit (I think) so one of your five a day. Lamb tagine (protein helps stave off hunger for a long time). Then pears (poached in vanilla sugar syrup - but I think the heat drives off all the calories in the sugar...) served with a tiny sliver of very slightly chocolately cake, a teeny weeny dollop of cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce....

Ok, ok, so we had a blow out meal, and the table is stacked with (empty) bottles of dessert wine... but I have a secret weapon!

I have worked out that if between now and my weigh-in tomorrow morning I eat 4,324 sticks of celery, I will have lost 2lbs this week... That thing about celery taking more calories to eat than it gives you is right, yeah?

Lovely evening though.

We'll draw a veil over this morning's non-appearance of the mother's day lie-in. Because I must remember that while I was having a hobby-filled day (ironing and cooking - ooh, my faves) Mr B was taking the lion's share of the family's responsibilities in Match of the Day watching, sitting on the sofa and drinking sherry. Ah, he's good to me that man.

Still, mustn't grumble. He has to get up at a time that starts with a 5 tomorrow to head off to London for a week's work. I suppose if he's doing the modern day equivalent of slaying the wildebeest, it's only fair that I keep the cave tidy and iron his loin cloth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.