The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Reflections

After shadows, it had to be reflections. It's a long time since I have stopped here for the view up the River Bela into Dallam Park, but then the slanting morning light creeping over the hillside is always best at this time of the year. Now the trees are stripped to winter skeletons, the filigree of twigs is silhouetted. In the park on the other side of blue water, there are fallow stags that spend much of their time here away from the herd of hinds on the other side of the river. There is also a single white goose grazing on the grass. But you may need to go large to see it.

After this start, I'm not sure the day quite fulfilled the promise of the weather forecast. Sue and I were caught by black clouds and a heavy shower when we reached the top of the Helm at lunchtime. The first time this season I have been both cold and wet, probably not the best conditions to be out in with yet another cold (I've lost count of the number of bouts of man flu I have had this year, where do they come from?). So I shall try and get an early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.